Favorite Places to Read: The Oval Office

    I have a comfy bed, too. But I can’t read there. In less than five minutes, I’ll be asleep.

    So where do I get most of my reading done? For as long as I can remember, one of my favorite reading spots has been the bathroom. Whether it’s the newspaper (years ago, when they still existed), the latest model airplane magazine (once a month), or Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (the current book), this has always been my favorite place to read. While, as I said, it’s been that way for a long time, it’s become more essential over the past ten years or so. Why is that? Kids. The bathroom is the only place in the house where I can shut the door, disappear for any significant period of time, and get anything resembling peace and quiet.

    I recently read an article about refrigerators specifically for the bathroom, designed to house various beauty products that are temperature-sensitive. Unfortunately, my wife uses none of these. Otherwise, you can bet that she’d get a bathroom fridge for Mother’s Day. It’s safe to say that within a day or two, it would be half-full of Diet Mt. Dew and my life would be complete.

    This activity is not without its dangers, however. First, there’s the ever-present danger of a foot falling asleep. Not really a big problem. It just means I have to sit there for a few more minutes than intended and I get to read an extra page or two.

    Then there’s the embarrassment factor. I am known in my house for extended trips to the bathroom. So much so that it is now called my “natural habitat.” As in, “Where’s Dad?” “Natural habitat.” “I should have guessed.” Luckily, this is something I can live with.

    As an offshoot of the embarrassment factor, there’s something that we’ll call “unintended consequences.” They say that most accidents happen in the home. That’s not that unusual, as people tend to spend plenty of time at home. If they’re going to have an accident, probability says it’ll happen while they’re at home. In my case, my bathroom unintended consequence involved a broken toilet seat that my family will never let me forget.

    Ever.

 

My sanctuary.

Among the towels and hair products, the ever-changing book selection.

This entry was posted in reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Favorite Places to Read: The Oval Office

  1. Zen says:

    People think it’s weird that I read in the bathroom, but I do it for the same reasons you do. While I don’t have kids, my house is incredibly loud and the bathroom is the only place I can escape it all!

  2. HFBrainerd says:

    I think I’ll refrain from joining that group.

Leave a Reply

