Gotta Write!

Two nights ago, our local theater had a screening of Singin’ in the Rain in honor of that classic movie’s 60th anniversary. Along with my grandmother, my mom, my two sisters, and our assorted kids, we took this opportunity to see one of our all-time favorites on the big screen. What an incredible experience! For the last couple of days, I’ve found myself humming many of the tunes – among them, Gotta Dance, where Gene Kelly’s character dances his way across a sound-stage-version of New York City in search of an agent who can help him get to Broadway. This got me thinking: what’s my “gotta”?

Gotta write! Gotta write, gotta write, gotta write!

I’ve been going through writing withdrawal this summer. I totally love summer, and cherish all of the outdoorsy-time I get to spend with my three boys, but I still miss writing. When we do spend some time at home, the boys take turns on the computer. After they’re in bed, my husband needs the computer to do actual work (you know, the paying kind). So my writing (which, at this point in my life, has come to necessitate a computer) has been bumped to the bottom of the list. Thus my writing withdrawal (and dreadful slacking off on the blog post front). In fact, I’m only managing this post because the boys aren’t home and my husband is on his way to pick them up. So, the summer has been flying by with me writing in my head while lifeguarding/driving kids places/riding roller coasters/etc. Hopefully, one of these days, I’ll have a chance to type some of it up before it starts to fade from my not-quite-as-good-as-it-used-to-be memory.

Or maybe I’ll just buy a notebook.

Cyd Charisse and Gene Kelly dancing in Singin’ in the Rain. (Photo credit: Flying Down to Hollywood)

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

