Back to school blues, edits galore, and pet allergies.

Fortunately, my three boys are doing fine with the transition back to school. I’m the one with the blues. After a wonderful summer, I really miss them!

My boys at Boldt Castle this summer.

My boys at Boldt Castle this summer.

So, I’m keeping as busy as possible. For starters, I’ve been working on revisions for not one, but TWO upcoming releases. Both The Sound of Sirens (book two of the José Picada series) and Dream Shade (my first YA release) should be out this fall. Yup, that’s been keeping me pretty darn busy.

My new favorite work spot: the window seat.

New favorite work spot: the window seat.

And then there’s my dog. She’s a rescue dog we adopted a few years ago, a pug/terrier mix. It’s a lovely combination; she sheds like a pug and barks like a terrier. Oh, and did I mention that she has a nervous condition? And that she was recently diagnosed with seasonal allergies? So now my dog is on Prozac and Zyrtec. And she doesn’t exactly enjoy taking pills. Good thing she’s so cute and cuddly!

This picture captures her inner crazy.

This picture captures her inner crazy.

Aside from that, my usual “laundry/house-cleaning/running around like a crazy person trying to get everything done while the boys are at school” routine has filled up any downtime. And, oh yeah, I’ve made a “New School Year Resolution” to work out every day. With all that’s going on here, I shouldn’t have time to mope around missing my kids, right?

Nope. I still miss them.

At least I can watch them get on and off the bus from my window seat view...

At least I can watch them get on and off the bus from my window seat view…

What’s your advice? How have you dealt with the back to school blues?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back to school blues, edits galore, and pet allergies.

  1. Heather, fun to read about other people’s lives. After Labor Day is a fresh start to the year especially when you have kids going back to school. I don’t know about working out, but I hope to follow in your footsteps and get more writing done as well.

    Susan Bernhardt
    The Ginseng Conspiracy
    http://www.susanbernhardt.com

  2. J.Q. Rose says:

    Cute kids. I think there are more moms besides you missing the carefree days of summer allowing playtime with your boys. Time for schedules and sounds like workouts. Take it easy. It’s your time to enjoy some play time!

  3. marsharwest says:

    Heather, I always do better with a schedule, so summer was always something of a challenge. Too much time I had to fill with some sort of plan. Once school began again, it all seemed to fall into place. LOL We’re all different. But you’ve got good plans. Hope you can stick to the exercise. It’s hard. It, too, cuts into our writing. I have to remind myself that I can’t write if I’m not well. 🙂 Happy New Year to you.

    • HFBrainerd says:

      It’s funny, Marsha – I’m a planner, but I love the laid-back, nonscheduled vibe of summer. And so far so good with the exercise regimen; I’m catching up on old episodes of Bones while I use the elliptical, so that keeps me entertained!

  4. It’s a bitter sweet time of year, Heather 😦 Exciting new school year for your kids, but sad when the house falls empty. I absolutely love your gorgeous dog – she looks like she can make things lively!

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Oh, yes, Desi does indeed keep the house from getting too quiet! 🙂 And my youngest is home with a fever today, so (although I wish he felt better) at least I’m not lonely. Oh my, it’s always something around here!

  5. Meradeth says:

    Sounds like you’re super busy! I honestly don’t have any advice, but I hope you have a little fun in there too 🙂

  6. Beverly says:

    Congratulations on your books. That’s awesome. Yeah, the beginning of school is hard on the parents. You do miss, the children. There’s also that feeling of “freedom.” 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my blog for Suzanne’s interview.

Leave a Reply

