Author James Crofoot Visits

Brainerd & Fraser: Welcome, James! It’s good to have you here.

James Crofoot: Thanks, it’s a pleasure to be your guest.

B&F: So, where do you live?

JC: I currently live in a little city called Jackson, Michigan.

B&F: We understand that you like Fantasy. What is it about the genre that draws you in?

JC: The thing that first drew me to fantasy was my studying of mythology.  First, Norse and then Greek to start with. I just love the stories of the old gods and the creatures inhabiting those tales. From there, RPGs, especially the fantasy ones, which included those creatures. I would also have to mention ‘The Hobbit’. If you know European tales of old you’ll find a great deal of legend in that story.

B&F: The Hobbit is a true classic. And we have to admit that we love role-playing games, too. When we were kids, we loved to sit around the table with books, character sheets, and dice. Yup, we’re old-school. Or maybe we’re just old. Anyway, tell us about your writing style.

JC: My writing style? I usually start by jotting things down, scribbling them all over the paper. (Yes I still use paper and pen.) It’s something I picked up in junior high school, and I just never really stopped. If you were to look at that jotting, you would have to turn the paper several different ways and still never be able to figure out what’s in my head.

I love researching. Most of fantasy I just know from devouring literally thousands of books when I was younger, but sometimes I do put in things from the mundane world. I really have done quite a bit of reading, and studying of feudal periods already, but there are times when I have to go back and refresh my memory.

Writing environment? To look at it outside my mind, disaster, but I know just where everything is. Haha!

B&F: Organized chaos can work! Aside from writing, what are a few of your favorite things?

JC: Studying martial ways. Something I started when I was young also. I practice moving and non-moving meditation in several forms. I started this in my reading also, I decided a long time ago that I wanted to know the things I read physically as well as mentally.

B&F: What is the most amazing place you’ve ever visited?

JC: The most amazing place I have been would probably be somewhere in the Atlantic. Not sure where, but one night I was standing on the forecastle of a ship (I was really supposed to be below decks), on a clear night, and saw the stars in the universe above me. The Milkyway was just a band of white across the heavens as the warm, salty spray from the ocean covered me. I discovered how one could fall in love with being at sea.

B&F: That does indeed sound amazing. Can you tell us about your current work in progress?

JC: I’m working on another fantasy, of course, about a human noble and his elvish wife, a princess in an elvish empire. There’s some love interest in it, a bit of thievery, and a war they must survive. Want more? You’ll have to read it when it comes out. Ha!

B&F: Sounds intriguing. Now it’s time for the rapid fire round!

Narnia or Hogwarts? Hogwarts

Swords or magic? Swords

Dragons or unicorns? Dragons

Tolkien or Riordan? Tolkien

Wine or mead? Mead

JC: A couple of these were tough, but I stand by my choices.

B&F: Well done, James!

The Journeys of a Different Necromancer 333x500

Thomas wanted to read and write, but he learned more than he bargained for from the dark mage in the obsidian tower. This Young Adult Dark Fiction e-book is available from MuseItUp Publishing.

IMG_0775

Connect with James on his blog.

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in reading, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Author James Crofoot Visits

  1. Interesting interview, James. I wrote the entire first draft of my book long hand. I think I wrote more freely that way. Didn’t let anything interfere with my raw thoughts. I still think that’s the best way to write, but now use the computer. It’s easier and faster.

    Best wishes on your writing.

    Susan Bernhardt
    The Ginseng Conspiracy coming 1/14
    http://www.susanbernhardt.com

  2. lexacain says:

    I use pen and paper too when I’m plotting at first. Things get scribbled everywhere! I enjoyed the interview very much. Good luck to James! 🙂

    • HFBrainerd says:

      I have to admit, I’m kind of jealous of those who still use pen and paper, even if it’s just in the early stages. I do everything on my laptop now, but miss the old days. 🙂

  3. Jim Crofoot says:

    Yeah buddy, pen and paper, there’s really no substitute if you’re jotting down ideas. What if they come to you half a page later and you want to turn the paper sideways. ahaha

  4. Pingback: James Crofoot’s new release | Heather Fraser Brainerd & David Fraser

Leave a Reply

