Taking My Time

I’m a girl on a mission. That mission is constantly changing, but I always have one. (Or several.) I’m not laid back; I want to get things done. Even on vacation, I have this mentality. You probably won’t find me relaxing on a beach. I’m more likely making reservations and planning activities, keeping to schedule and fitting as much into each day as possible.

Walt Disney World is a great place for my type of vacation. First of all, planning is important there. You can start making dining reservations 180 days before your trip, and ride reservations 60 days pre-vaca. So, by the time we get there, our vacation is extremely planned out. In between the planned activities, I fly around at top speed, fitting in as many activities as possible. This is fun, but exhausting.

Our recent Walt Disney World vacation was different. About three weeks before our trip, I aggravated an old injury, making it difficult for me to walk. If you’ve ever been to Disney World, you know that this place is all about walking. Each day, you walk from your room to the bus stop to the park gates, and then all over the park for like twelve hours, and then back to the bus stop and back to your room. How was I going to do Disney with a bum foot?

The answer: slowly. Very, very slowly. I still had a list of things that I wanted to do, but it was done at a much more relaxed pace. We meandered our way through the parks, stopping frequently to rest. We did fewer rides, but savored them more. We sat and people-watched and speculated on their back-stories. We took pictures of food and flowers and sweeping views. We noticed details that we normally fly past on our way from one attraction to the next. We took our time.

I’m sure that, once I’ve healed, I’ll be back to my old running-around-trying-to-get-everything-done ways, but for now I’m enjoying taking my time.

food

flowers

view

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in travel, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Taking My Time

  1. Great photos, Heather! Love the sunshine. I’m a phenomenal planner on holiday too – my long-suffering husband has a lot to put up with! But I like to be organised 🙂 Glad you had such a good time!

  2. marsharwest says:

    reat pics, Heather. Enjoyed the reminders of a once long-ago trip with the kids. We’re pretty much planners, too. Some things are only offered at certain times or days (probably not in Walt Disney World, but other places.), so it’s important to plan when you want to do that. Deciding one time or other might preclude you doing something else you want to do. We don’t rush, but we know exactly where we’re going. LOL I only remember one time we meandered on a trip. It was delightful and we were so proud of ourselves, but we went back to our regular planned way of doing things. Hope you’re totally back on both feet soon.

  3. J.Q Rose says:

    Oh Heather, Heather, Heather. I am definitely NOT a napper or beach sitter on vacation. I figure I can do that at home..well not the beach exactly, but sit anyway. So you are on the right track. But bustling around and trying to get in EVERYTHING you want to do drives me crazy and causes so much stress. Sometimes it’s just nice to do what you can and let the rest of it go. I love Disney too and it is so easy to get overbooked for the day. But with your experience. you know how to plan the day/night. Glad you had a good time even with a bum foot! Great photos. Any more?

    • You’re right, JQ – over-planning can be as much of a pitfall as under-planning. When we’re at Disney World with our boys, we totally follow their lead. But…since this recent trip was a “honeymoon” (my husband and I try to take at least one per year!), we were trying to squeeze in all the stuff that our boys would find “boring.” And we actually got to most of it and didn’t stress at all. 🙂
      Thanks for the your kind words. You can find more Disney pics on my other blog (disneyforfive.wordpress.com) and on my husband’s blog (2eat2drink.com).

  4. Loren says:

    Heather, now I know I’m not alone for having date nights at Disney(land) with my husband. A cousin couldn’t believe adults would go for the sake of their entertainment. It wasn’t the time to admit that the main reason we had annual passes (when we loved in SoCal) was b/c of ME. My kids had a great time in Disney, but I was truly in fantasy world.
    (I visited your Disney For Five blog, but couldn’t figure out how to subscribe! I only know when you update by your MIU emails.)

    Have fun!

    • Thanks for your interest, Loren! It’s always great to meet another Disney fan. 🙂
      If you want to subscribe to Disney For Five, just scroll to the bottom to find the “follow via email” button. I don’t usually promote my Disney blog on the MIU author’s loop (I just did it that one time since a few people seemed interested in the topic), so following by email would be the way to go.

  5. Beverly says:

    Great post, Heather. I can relate, for I am a planner too. I think I have to have every hour of the day accounted for and make lists to make sure I do. One of my new year goals was to take more time for me, to relax and take life a bit easier. Working on that. 🙂 Haven’t been to Disney World but we went to Disney Land in California years ago. Lots of walking.

    • That’s a great resolution, Beverly. It’s funny how some of us have to work on relaxing, isn’t it? I haven’t been to Disneyland, but would love to someday. It would be wonderful to see where it all started. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

