Chatting with Author Mary Waibel

We’re pleased to be part of the Blog Tour for Mary Waibel’s Different Kind of Knight.

DKK Banner

Brainerd & Fraser: Welcome, Mary! The last time you were here, your characters did all the talking. It’s nice to get the chance to chat with you.

Mary Waibel: It’s great to be here! I’m so excited to see what you ask me.

B&F: We understand you live in upstate New York, just like us. What’s your favorite thing about living here?

MW: I moved to New York when I was 2, and other than a year in PA when I was first married, I’ve lived here all my life. I grew up in the country, and live in a small village now. It’s a lovely area with lots of parks, an AHL team (the Binghamton Senators), a farm team for the Mets (the Binghamton Mets), as well as several places for the performing arts. No matter what you like to do, I’m sure you could find it here.

B&F: If you could live anyplace (real or imagined), where would it be?

MW: Hmm. I’d love to live in Ireland or Scotland, in the regency period, but I’d want some of our more modern conveniences-like indoor plumbing, running water, modern medicine.

B&F: You write Young Adult Fantasy. We love Young Adult Fantasy. What drew you to this genre?

MW: I got into role playing when I met my husband, and I always loved the worlds we found ourselves in. For me, being able to create such a world, and a compelling cast of characters, to escape to (and with) drew me to fantasy. Add in the angst and first experiences and the beginnings of learning to deal with things on your own and I found myself in the YA world.

B&F: Your books feature strong female characters. Who are some of your female role models?

MW: I never intended to set out writing strong female characters, they just kind of happened. Of course, I believe a strong man needs a strong woman to keep balance in the relationship. That being said, my mom would be the biggest female role model in my life. Watching her balance a family and working full-time taught me a lot about time management and learning what’s important to take care of now, and what you can leave for later. As for non-relatives? I’ve always admired Margaret Thatcher and Martha Washington (our very first, first lady 🙂 )

B&F: If you could have three wishes, what would you wish for? (Bonus points if you know who we’re quoting!)

MW: This sounds like a question from Kai Strand’s Three Wishes 🙂

1)   I would wish to finally meet all my internet writing buddies. Some of these lovely ladies I’ve known for almost 6 years and still haven’t connected in person.

2)   I’d also wish for more time in the day so I can do a better job juggling all my to-do’s.

3)   Finally, I’d wish for a marketing faery to come and help me learn all I need to know about marketing.

(B&F: Actually, we were quoting Mrs. Beasley, but we’ll have to check out Kai Strand’s Three Wishes!) Let’s move on to the rapid-fire round!

Hogwarts or Narnia? Narnia

Starbuck or Princess Leia? Princess Leia

Magic or might? Magic

World of Warcraft or Dungeons & Dragons? Dungeons & Dragons

Wine or mead? Wine

Mary is having a giveaway! Click here to enter. 

Different Kind of Knight 300 dpi

Through a twist of fate, Princess Gabrielle became First Knight of the King’s Elite Guard, a position always held by the second born male. She’s spent years proving to the Minsters of Faldaera she is capable of leading the king’s Army.

When mythical creatures plague her kingdom, Rielle is sent to capture Captain Brody, the alleged culprit behind the attacks and the man who broke her heart four years ago.

Brody, Crown Prince of Delphine, is living in self-imposed exile, atoning for the sins of his father. But Fate has different plans for him. Tired, beaten down, and ready to give up on life, he is tossed into the path of the one person he would do anything for―Princess Gabrielle.

With a traitor in her ranks, and a mark on her head, Brody joins forces with Rielle, hoping to keep the woman he loves safe. Happily-ever-after is not guaranteed, and mythical creatures aren’t the only danger the couple face. As battles rage, Rielle has the chance to prove herself a capable leader, but will doing so cost her the love of her life?

SPECIAL OFFER AT MUSEITUPPUBLISHING.COM:

DIFFERENTKINDOFKNIGHTBOGO

Find Different Kind of Knight and all of Mary’s books at:

MuseItUp Publishing

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

iTunes

and other major retailers

Mary Waibel Author Photo

Mary lives with her husband, son and two cats. When she isn’t twisting fairytales, she enjoys reading, playing games, watching hockey, and camping. Her Princess of Valendria series (Quest of the Hart, Charmed Memories, Different Kind of Knight) are available from MuseItUp Publishing and other major retailers. Her Faery Marked (book 1 in the Faery Series) will be available from BookFishBooks this summer.

You can find Mary Waibel at:

http://marywaibel.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/authormarywaibel

@mewtweety14 (twitter)

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in reading, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chatting with Author Mary Waibel

  1. Mary Waibel says:

    Heather and David-

    Thanks so much for hosting me today!!!

  2. Great interview, Mary and Heather and David! Best wishes on Different Kind of Knight.

    Curl up with a killer – Cozy Mysteries
    The Ginseng Conspiracy by Susan Bernhardt
    http://www.susanbernhardt.com

  3. What a lovely interview, Mary and Heather! Hope your marketing faery finds you and gives you three wishes, Mary 🙂 Good luck!

  4. I love the interview format here! Great job, Mary and Heather! I’m originally from NY, too, a town called Poughkeepsie. Does anyone know a spell to conjure up a marketing faery?

  5. Hey, did someone say my name? 😉

    Seriously, great interview! I love that you wished for a marketing faery instead of a publicist. Maybe they are the same, but yours sound more fun!

  6. J.Q. Rose says:

    Marketing faery is a great idea, but what do you pay her? Enjoyed the interview. Many good wishes for success with your book!

Leave a Reply

