Between Tweens: Middle Grade Author Suzanne de Montigny

Next up on the Between Tweens series is Suzanne de Montigny, who wrote her first unicorn story at the age of twelve. Several years later, she discovered it in an old box in the basement, thus reigniting her love affair with unicorns. The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy, is her first novel. Suzanne lives in Burnaby, B.C. with the four loves of her life – her husband, two boys, and Buddy the dog.

SONY DSC

What drew you to writing for tweens?

Suzanne: It was because I taught elementary music for twenty years where I learned I was a good storyteller. So it was only natural that I write for the same age group.

What is your favorite thing about The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy?

Suzanne: The character Darius. I love him so much. He’s so selfless and good. His entire life is lived for the unicorns.

What is your greatest ambition?

Suzanne: To win some really big awards and have a movie made of one of my books.

What gives you the creepy-crawlies?

Suzanne: Demons. I can’t read any stories with them. They scare the bejeebers out of me in the middle of the night. Not that I believe in them or anything, but suppose they really did exist.

If you could give a bit of advice to your tween self, what would it be?

Suzanne: I was a very ugly tween, so I would say, “Don’t worry so much about your looks. You’ll find the right hairdo and makeup some day. Concentrate on your talents.”

Find Suzanne’s blog here.

Find Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy on MuseItUp Publishing, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

Hop on over to Suzanne’s blog to see how I answered her questions!

Also on the blog hop are Madeleine McLaughlin and Sandy Carlson. Hope to see you there!

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in reading, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Between Tweens: Middle Grade Author Suzanne de Montigny

  1. Another lovely interview, Heather and Suzanne! Your answer about the demons made me laugh! I never read scary books or watch horror films, so I don’t think I’ve come across a story with a demon in it. I don’t think I’d like it if I did, either 🙂 Unicorns are way better!

Leave a Reply

