Between Tweens: Middle Grade Author Madeleine McLaughlin

Our Between Tweens series wraps up with Madeleine McLaughlin, who lives in eastern Canada and has been writing for twenty years. At first, she published poetry and later moved into flash fiction and short stories. Her new e-book, Beggar Charlie, is to be released by MuseItUp Publishing in the summer of 2014.

Madeleine McLaughlin

What drew you to writing for tweens?

MM: It is an age I tend to think about the most. It’s hard because you can’t write about anything that’s too old for them, so I find it challenging and I like to do things that challenge me and make me work hard.

What is your favorite thing about Beggar Charlie?

MM: Just the fact that I set out to do the ‘accent’ and the publishers liked it. It’s like getting accepted in some kind of club when someone appreciates what you do.

What is your greatest ambition?

MM: I’d like to have established a reputation by the time I’m sixty-five. I’d like to be making some money by that time.

What gives you the creepy-crawlies?

MM: Evil people because they look just like everyone else and you can’t tell just by looking.

If you could give a bit of advice to your tween self, what would it be?

MM: Don’t just rush out and do what you want. You have to listen to people older because they know more, especially that there are things that a kid can do that they’ll regret for the rest of their lives.

Find Madeleine McLaughlin on her blog.

Hop over to Sandy Carlson’s blog to see how I answered her questions!

Also on the blog hop are Suzanne de Montigny and Madeleine McLaughlin. Hope to see you there!

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in reading, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Between Tweens: Middle Grade Author Madeleine McLaughlin

  1. You’re right, Madeleine, it is a challenge to write for this age group. It annoys me when people think writing for children is somehow inferior to “proper” writing. Books I read as a child have stayed in my head far longer than many books I read as an adult. Good luck with Beggar Charlie!

  2. khicks48 says:

    Hi Heather, I agree with you except for one thing — I read Wind in the Willows when i was in college and I remember it well. I think good writing sticks.

  3. Great interview, Madeleine and Heather. I would love to write a middle grade mystery. I think it would be more of a challenge than writing an adult mystery. Best wishes to both of you.

    Susan

  4. J.Q Rose says:

    What a great title, Beggar Charlie. Now I’m wondering what kind of accent did you include in the book? That is truly difficult to pull off. Congrats, Madeleine, on accomplishing this and on this new release.

Leave a Reply

