Coping with Doctor Who withdrawal

If you’re as geeky as I am, you simply cannot wait for the new season (or series, as they say in the UK) of Doctor Who. In the meantime, here are a few ways to cope with Doctor Who withdrawal.

– Watch old episodes. My provider of choice for this is Netflix. They have the entire reboot available, plus a sampling of the classic episodes. Enough to keep you busy for quite some time!

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 8.24.56 PM

– Watch Torchwood. No, it’s not The Doctor. But it’s Captain Jack Harkness. Can’t argue with some Captain Jack!

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 8.26.09 PM

– Check out the Doctor Who comic book series.

– Brew some tea in a TARDIS teapot and serve it in a TARDIS mug.

IMG_1177

Yes, I actually own these.

 

– Wear some fine Whovian apparel.

IMG_1180

And these.

 

– Accent it with TARDIS bling.

IMG_1181

And this.

 

– Paint your nails TARDIS-blue.

photo credit: Gabrielle Myers Torello

photo credit: Gabrielle Myers Torello

Do you have any other Who-worthy suggestions to get us through the gap?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in geekiness, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coping with Doctor Who withdrawal

  1. disneywithme says:

    As always I turn to YouTube. I think I have watched the “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” Cast and Crew special send-off about 5 or 6 times by now. ;D TARDIS blue… that’s pretty…

  2. I’m very excited about the new series, Heather, and am hoping it will be as great as my expectations! Sometimes I wish Dr Who would go back to the old format of six half hour episodes about the same story, each with a cliff-hanger ending. Sometimes in the new format the story seems a little rushed towards the end. One of my favourite series of all time is this one that I watched as a child: http://www.bbc.co.uk/doctorwho/classic/episodeguide/mindrobber/detail.shtml I was absolutely terrified. Apart from that I had a crush on Jamie (The doctor’s assistant. He wore a kilt. Enough said.) My brother once saw Jamie in real life, filling his car up with petrol at a service station. Jealousy still eats me to this day.

  3. HFBrainerd says:

    It sounds fantastic, Helena – thanks!

  4. Good suggestions! I’m also eagerly waiting for the new season. Another neat thing you can get is a sonic screwdriver (I don’t have one yet, I’ve seen some, and some are pens, some lights, and some screwdrivers, or a combination). I also have a cute Hello Sweetie T-shirt from Redbubble: http://www.redbubble.com/people/sandrasilvers/works/7862858-hello-sweetie?body_color=light_pink&p=t-shirt&print_location=front&ref=shop_grid&style=womens

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Great ideas, Mary-Jean! I’ve had my eye on a sonic screwdriver for a while now – the Tenth Doctor’s, as he’s my fave. That t-shirt is adorable! Love the bow tie & fez!

Leave a Reply

