I am the champion.

I won this!

I won this!

Season 19 of Dancing with the Stars may be behind us, but the awards ceremony for our Dancing with the Stars Fantasy League was just recently held. I was fortunate enough to be the DWTSFL Season 19 Champion, while my sister Carlie was named MVP. In honor of this event, I decided to interview the DWTSFL Commissioner, who also happens to be my brother Dave.

Heather: Mr. Commissioner, itโ€™s an honor to have you here today.

Dave (AKA The Commish): Yes, it certainly is.

Heather: Could you please explain how the Season 19 DWTSFL champion was determined?

The Commish: Once the DWTS Season 19 cast was announced, all league participants ranked them by their expected finish. We held a draft in random order, with selections made based on everyone’s preseason rankings. Heather’s name came up first in random order, so she got the first pick. She chose Alfonso Ribeiro, who was the overall favorite. He won, getting her a trophy as well. Not a mirror ball trophy, though. Those things are too expensive.

Heather: How about the MVP?

The Commish: The MVP, or Most Valuable Picker, was the person whose ranking was the most accurate. I have an Excel spreadsheet that automatically calculated this. I’d describe it, but Iโ€™m very sick today and don’t feel like it.

winning sisters

Heather: Were you at all tempted to cheat and award both trophies to yourself?

The Commish: No, and I’m insulted that you would even suggest that. Actually, yes, but I didn’t think I could get away with it, since everyone knew my celebrity was the first one eliminated.

Heather: What big things are planned for Season 20 of DWTSFL?

The Commish: This season, the draft will not be in random order. It will be based on Season 19 performance. The Rules Committee, comprised of the Commissioner and the Vice-Commissioner (also me), will meet to review any proposed rule changes, primarily in the MVP calculation algorithm. Also, we are striving to avoid the scandals that are plaguing our fellow major sports leagues. There will be random performance enhancing drug testing, as well as secret in-home surveillance. Oops. I guess that’s not so secret anymore. Forget I said that last part.

Well, there you have it, folks. If anyone is interested in joining the Dancing with the Stars Fantasy League, please leave a comment below. Of course, all slots in this highly coveted competition are taken, but weโ€™d be happy to add your name to our waiting list. (Note to Commissioner: start a waiting list.)

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in current events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I am the champion.

  1. Beverly says:

    Interesting interview. The League sounds like fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a nice blog here.

  2. What a great idea to hold a league, Heather. I love that programme! It’s called Strictly Come Dancing in the UK. This year Donny Osmond was a guest judge for one episode. He was fabulous. Me and my brother are also in a fantasy league, but for football. (Soccer.) He won last year, but this year at the moment I’m top, top, top of the league. The pressure is on ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy New Year to you and family!

  3. J.Q. Rose says:

    Congratulations! What a prestigious award. How odd to have a muscle man atop the trophy for a dancing competition!! Perhaps the least expensive choice available since Dave is the Commish? Please place me on the waiting list. But I doubt you will consider me since I am such a tough competitor in any league. Now the pressure is on for you dear Heather to keep your title as winner of the DWTSFL. I’m sure you will be a target next year to topple you from your winning position. Hang on!!

  4. Sreejit Poole says:

    Awesome idea! I need to start this with my family. We are more of a mosh pit than a fantasy league though.

Leave a Reply

