Easy Bake Zeeuwse Bolus

International Year of Light and Light-based Technology World Tour Stop 4: The Netherlands

International Year of Light and Light-based Technology World Tour Stop 4: The Netherlands

So now it’s April. Well, it’s been April for almost a month now, but I haven’t had to update the International Year of Light and Light-Based Technologies Culinary Tour until today. Why today? Because April 27 is Koningsdag, a holiday in the Netherlands celebrating the birthday of King Willem-Alexander. To celebrate Knoningsdag, we’ll be making zeeuwse bolus, a cinnamon bun.
Right about now, you’re probably thinking, “Hey, the first three Easy Bake things were all meaty. What’s with the vegetarian stuff?” There are a couple of reasons. I have a daughter that doesn’t eat meat, and each month so far, she’s asked that I do something she can try. After making shrimp, beef, and kielbasa (I’m not sure what a kielbasa is, but I think it’s kind of like an antelope), I cut meat from the menu this time around. Then there’s the fact that cinnamon buns are awesome. So that’s good enough for me.
What recipe did I use? There were several good looking ones to choose from, but I went with this one. To convert it to an Easy Bake recipe, all I did was half the amount of dough used per roll. When using the Easy Bake Oven, I tend to start with ten minutes baking time and adjust accordingly for the next one. It turned out that ten minutes was perfect for these. Well, it was perfect for the dough. The sugar sprinkled on top could have used either a higher temperature or longer time. Unfortunately, there is no way to regulate the Easy Bake temperature (it only has two: on and off) and I didn’t want to dry out the rolls. So ten minutes it was.
About to be Easy Baked

About to be Easy Baked


During my research, I came across the fact that zeeuwse bolus is typically eaten upside down (I mean the bun is upside down, not the eater) and hot with butter smeared across the bottom. Not one to scoff at tradition, I slathered a ton of butter on that sucker. It was, as cinnamon buns are known to be, awesome. But then again, so is just about anything with a ton of butter slathered on it.
Out of the Easy Bake and ready to eat

Out of the Easy Bake and ready to eat

This entry was posted in Easy Bake Oven, International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy Bake Zeeuwse Bolus

  1. The Zeeuwse Bolus looks delicious. Happy Knoningsdag Day, David and Heather!

  2. J.Q. Rose says:

    Yum! Cinnamon buns! I always wanted to open a coffee shop/book store/candle shop. People would come in for my delicious cin (cin) buns and discuss books and buy them plus take home a candle or ten. But I d need a bigger oven I hope.

Leave a Reply

