Our Summer Travels: Cedar Point

Cedar Point sign

I’ve had Cedar Point (“The Roller Coaster Capital of the World”) floating around in the back of my mind for a few years now. I was waiting for that perfect moment when our three boys would all be old enough for the coasters and my husband would still be young enough for them! 🙂 This summer seemed like the perfect time, so off to Ohio we went! After almost six hours in the car, we were pretty happy to arrive at the beautiful Hotel Breakers. This hotel just underwent a massive renovation and is gorgeous! It’s right on the beach at Lake Erie, yet steps away from the amusement park. The location could not have been more perfect.

Hotel Breakers

Our suite was pretty awesome! It was made even better by the gluten-free baked goods I’d arranged to have delivered by Jam Gluten Free Bakeshop. It was nice to walk in and find our GF goodies waiting for us. They were the best we’ve tried so far!

boys in room

Mmm... gluten-free goodness!

Mmm… gluten-free goodness!

As soon as we settled our things into the suite, my husband and the boys headed for the park while I sorted out a small question about our tickets. While we’re on the topic, a few thoughts on Cedar Point park tickets…

  1. If you’re staying at a Cedar Point hotel, purchase discounted tickets at the front desk rather than paying full price at the theme park.
  2. If you plan your trip way in advance (like I did), check for a special package deal. I booked our trip last December and was able to take advantage of a deal where we received our suite plus 1-day Fast Lane Plus park tickets for all five of us for a really good price! With the long lines of summer, those Fast Lane Plus wristbands sure came in handy!
  3. If you arrive in the late afternoon or early evening on your first day, you can purchase “after 4pm” park tickets for a reduced price. Again, buy these at the hotel’s front desk to get them even cheaper than at the park.

On my way to catch up with my fam, look who I ran into!

It's Snoopy!

It’s Snoopy!

The first night at the theme park was super fun! By the time the park closed at midnight, the crowds were pretty sparse and the wait times were low. Plus the park lights were very pretty.

The view from the Sky Ride.

The view from the Sky Ride.

The next morning, we took advantage of Early Entry. Because we were staying on-site, we could get into the theme park at 9am instead of 10am. Short lines again – yay!

Morning at Cedar Point

Morning at Cedar Point

I can't believe I let me kids go on this thing!

I can’t believe I let my kids go on this!

We even found some good gluten-free options in the park.

joe cool cafe

GF at joe cool

And I found something historical!

Commemorating Helen Keller's appearance at Cedar Point in 1925.

Commemorating Helen Keller’s appearance at Cedar Point in 1925.

And educational!

dinosaurs alive

dino sign

Controlling an animatronic dinosaur. How cool!

Controlling an animatronic dinosaur. How cool!

A mock archeological dig site. With a degree in Anthropology, this part really appealed to me.

A mock archeological dig site. With a degree in Anthropology, this part really appealed to me.

big dino

The next day, we slept late, went into town for lunch, lazed on the beach, played mini golf, and had a fun hibachi dinner.

Lake Erie

Lake Erie

On day four, it was time to head home. However, since our route took us right through Cleveland, we simply had to stop at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Rock and Roll HOFThey were having an exhibit called Herb Ritts: The Rock Portraits. It was amazing!

My favorite of the Herb Ritts exhibit: Dizzy Gillespie.

My favorite of the Herb Ritts exhibit: Dizzy Gillespie.

View from inside the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

View from inside the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

After enjoying a few hours in Cleveland, we were back on the road. A mere five hours later, we were home, and trip #4 of the summer was on the books!

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in travel, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Summer Travels: Cedar Point

  1. Sounds like another wonderful family vacation. Enjoyed the photos.
    I used to love roller coasters and went on them every summer when I was a kid. Now I only like the ones at Disney World and not even all of those…lol.

    Glad you had a great time, Heather and all.

  2. J.Q. Rose says:

    What a great job reporting on Cedar Point. We haven’t been there for ages. Fast pass? Early entry? Sounds like Disney. Great photos. So glad you had such a great time in the Midwest. Don’t tell your boys I said so, but they are cuties!

Leave a Reply

