Gluten-free cut-out cookie success!

Our family has been living with celiac disease for a little over two years now. In that time, I’ve converted many of my favorite recipes to gluten-free versions. The one recipe that eluded me happened to be my favorite food on the planet: cut-out cookies. I’ve tried various gluten-free versions, but just didn’t care for the results. So, I experimented. By combining two different cookie recipes and making a few tweaks, I’m finally happy with the results! Here’s the recipe:

Gluten-free cut-out cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Cup4Cup gluten-free flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup softened butter
  • 1 egg at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Beat sugar and butter together until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl. Add egg and vanilla, mix until smooth. Slowly add flour mixture until dough forms.

Wrap dough in plastic and refrigerate at least one hour. (I chilled it overnight, but it was very hard the next day, so I had to let it warm up a little.)

Preheat oven to 350 F.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out a portion of the dough to about 1/8 inch to ¼ inch thick. Cut with cookie cutters. Bake on parchment paper-lined cookie sheet for 5 – 6 minutes. Cool completely before frosting.

making-cut-outs

Frosting ingredients:

  • 2 ¾ cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup softened butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons milk

Combine all ingredients and beat at low speed until smooth. Color with food coloring if desired. If you’re like me, double the frosting recipe, load the cookies up, and keep any leftover frosting in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

gf-cut-outs

Since this site is about writing, I’d really like to tie in cut-out cookies to one of our books. Ummm…. Well, since I can’t think of any cookie-related scenes, I’ll just recommend Deception Al Dente. It takes place at a restaurant and can be found here.

Are you a cut-out cookie fan? What’s your favorite Christmas cookie?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten-free cut-out cookie success!

  1. J.Q. Rose says:

    Yes, I love to EAT cut out cookies, but I don’t bake them. I remember having the Norman Rockwell idea of the girls and I baking cookies and decorating them together. Well, I baked them, they decorated 2 of the dozens I made and left me to decorate the rest. So that was the last time I did it!!! Thank you for the recipe. I’ll pass it along to friends who are in need of GF cookie recipes. AND your book is tasty! Loved it!

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Thank you, Janet, for the cleverly worded tie-in to our book! 🙂 And thanks for helping to get this recipe out there. Whether you have to eat GF or not, it’s worth a try. You should see how fast my cookies disappeared! Which reminds me of another book, Act of Abduction…

Leave a Reply

